Corporate Corruption Webcast: A Spotlight on... Southeast Asia

Webinar

November 24, 2022 | (Webinar)

Corporate Corruption Webcast: A Spotlight on... Southeast Asia

The 10 countries that comprise the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) are diverse in their histories, geographic coverage, economic development and regulation. From the financial services focused city-state of Singapore to the commodity-driven economy of Malaysia and Indonesia with its population of upwards of 270 million people, the region is rich in natural resources, manufacturing, agriculture, and increasingly, professional services.

Whilst Singapore ranks as one of the least corrupt countries in the world, some of the other ASEAN countries do not fare so well.1 Efforts are being made to address the issue of corruption, with the introduction of new statutes and an increased activity of regulators, but the perceived risk of corruption, at least, remains.

On this webcast, A Spotlight on... Southeast Asia, Kroll experts Saket Bhartia and Ben Boorer will be joined by Weiyi Tan, Partner at Clyde & Co, Sidarth Khashu, Compliance Officer at Beam Suntory, and Michael Ramirez, Counsel at Tilleke & Gibbins, to discuss corruption in Southeast Asia, focusing on the issue from a business perspective.

The discussion will consider the backdrop to corruption in the region, how the corruption landscapes have evolved into their current positions, and the approach taken by the authorities in combatting corruption. The panel will also explore what global businesses need to be thinking about to mitigate the risk of experiencing corruption-related difficulties in the region and what an appropriate response might look like should an issue arise.

 Time

1 p.m. – 2 p.m. (GMT)

2 p.m. – 3 p.m. (CET)

4 p.m. – 5 p.m. (GST)

9 p.m. – 10 p.m. (SGT)

8 a.m. – 9 a.m. (EDT)

7 a.m. – 8 a.m. (CDT)

Speakers

  • Weiyi Tan, Partner, Clyde & Co
  • Michael Ramirez, Counsel, Tilleke & Gibbins
  • Sidarth Khashu, Compliance Officer, Beam Suntory
  • Saket Bhartia, Managing Director, Kroll
  • Ben Boorer, Associate Managing Director, Kroll

Webcast Corporate Corruption Spotlight Southeast Asia

Source
1Transparency International

2022-11-24T00:00:00.0000000 0001-01-01T00:00:00.0000000 /-/media/kroll-images/events/webcast-corporate-corruption-spotlight-southeast-asia.png /en/insights/events/2022/webcast-corporate-corruption-spotlight-southeast-asia event {01699FB1-A280-41EA-B450-4639512275D3} {6B18A490-2227-426A-A1D0-3836822E90EB}

Connect with us

Saket Bhartia
Saket Bhartia
Managing Director
Forensic Investigations and Intelligence
Singapore
Phone
Ben Boorer
Ben Boorer
Associate Managing Director
Forensic Investigations and Intelligence
London
Phone

Stay Ahead with Kroll

Forensic Investigations and Intelligence

Providing clients with global investigative expertise to help make critical decisions and mitigate risk.

Compliance Risk


Key Takeaways from the World Compliance Insurance & Re Conference

Nov 17, 2022

by Emanuel Batista G. Carolina Castellanos, Maria Alejandra Vahos, Pablo Igarrori

Real Estate Advisory


Non-Traded REIT Valuations Under Scrutiny

Nov 16, 2022

by Ross Prindle

Forensic Investigations and Intelligence


Examining Workplace Culture Can Help Lawyers Assess Deals

Nov 09, 2022

by Betsy Blumenthal

Cyber


Q3 2022 Threat Landscape: Insider Threat, The Trojan Horse of 2022

Nov 08, 2022

by Laurie IaconoKeith Wojcieszek George Glass